Rainy Day Writing

Writing, Reading, Inspirations and Aspirations

Blogging and Writing Unsupervised

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The author with her editor…

I’m new to this blogging stuff.  I resisted it for a long time because, quite honestly, I’m really not all that interesting. But as a writer, I thought it might be a good idea, because it encourages me to write, and since no one is paying to read this crap, I won’t have to listen to bad reviews or have people clamoring for their money back.

So far I like blogging more than I thought I would. Here’s what I like about it: I can write what I want. That’s a good thing and a bad thing. There is no one orchestrating this blog, including the author, sadly. I can be my authentic self, which is what I have been striving to be most of my life, which might explain why I have so few friends. But I digress. The bad thing about writing what you want is–no one is orchestrating. There is no one waving a big stick menacingly in front of me that says–oh no, don’t say THAT! There is no one toning down my rants with a gentle floating through the air movement, palm facing down, hand slowly descending. (Obviously I’m no conductor or I would know the terms for these mysterious gestures.) There are no violins to let me know that I’m entering melodrama territory and need to lighten up considerably before someone gags. Now that I think about it, it’s a lot like Facebook without all those annoying cute kitty videos. I’m winging it.

Now there is this little icon somewhere on this post page that offers “Request Feedback..before publishing,” but I haven’t used it. I’m afraid that if they told me to “Give it up Lady” or “What is your home address so we can alert the appropriate authorities”, I might not have the nerve to post at all. So here I go, I’m going to push the big blue PUBLISH button and throw caution to the wind–again. Wish me luck.

2 Comments

  1. He’s a lot cuter and nicer than your average editor.

    Like

  2. Good choice on editor. Probably works for cheap.

    Like

Leave a Reply

