Rainy Day Writing

Writing, Reading, Inspirations and Aspirations

Starting over…..

I’ve been meaning to get back and post here for the longest time….sixteen months? really? Whoa, I’m sure it could not possibly be that long. Then again, my DH retired last year and my life hasn’t been the same since. I would love to be able to report that I was doing something fascinating in that time–eating my way around Italy (I wasn’t, but you would never guess it looking at me), or lost in a hashish haze in Amsterdam, (research for a book of course!), or training for a cross country bike tour, but nope, I’ve just been home…mostly. Building an addition, gardening, hanging out with the old man, going to concerts, and loving life here in the Pacific Northwest. And celebrating my first ever published piece of writing, a short personal essay entitled Love in a Bottle (Skirt! Magazine, April 2015.)

It’s all good, but time is wasting and I need to get back at it. This poor lonely little blog has just been hanging out here, a few lines of text, lost among the gazillions of lines of text in the blog-a-sphere, or whatever you call it. (Obviously, I’m new at this.) I never thought I would have a blog, but it’s pretty much a requirement these days if you want to be taken seriously as a writer. So, here I go, despite the fact that  I am terribly undisciplined and random. Some of it has to do with my advancing age (like Nora Ephron, I remember nothing), and some of it is just my personality. Anyways, bear with me if you will as I get this thing cranked up and running again. I plan to share some of my writing (essays, memoir, poems, etc.) and hopefully, in time, get acquainted with the writing community out there.

Leave a Reply

